• Teambrown Apparel

#Spotlight - Black History Month - Writers of History - BONUS

#Spotlight – This week we continue our celebration of Black History Month. Our bonus blog today is on Claire Smith, the first female winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award and a member of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism at the University of Maryland’s Philip Merrill College of Journalism created The Sam Lacy-Wendell Smith Award to be presented annually in conjunction with the Shirley Povich Symposium to a sports journalist or broadcaster who has made significant contributions to racial and gender equality in sports. http://povichcenter.org/lacy-smith-award/

Claire Smith was named the first winner of the Sam Lacy-Wendell Smith Award Other winners - William C. Rhoden and James Brown - http://www.espnfrontrow.com/2013/10/claire-smith-named-first-winner-of-the-sam-lacy-wendell-smith-award/

In 2017, the J.G. Taylor Spink Award which had previously been awarded to Wendell Smith and Sam Lacy was awarded to Claire Smith - https://baseballhall.org/discover/claire-smith-reflects-on-winning-spink-award

Celebrate Black History Month with your Negro Leagues Apparel – Get your Negro Leagues gear – https://www.teambrownapparel.com - Use BHM to save on Apparel.


8 views0 comments